Big Horn County School District #4

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
Life-long learning through attitude, academics, and accountability
2017/2018 Board Meeting Minutes » July 11, 2017

July 11, 2017

Minutes of Regular Meeting

District Four Board of Trustees

Administration Office

Basin, Wyoming

August 9, 2016


1.0       Opening of Meeting:  This meeting was called to order by Vice Chairman Greg Gloy at 7:00 pm.

1.1       The pledge of allegiance was led by Vice Chairman Greg Gloy.

1.2       Roll Call:  Board members present were:  Greg Gloy, Deb Craft, Kristen    Schlattmann, Brenton Paxton, Heath Hopkin and Chris Kampbell.  Also present   was Superintendent Dave Kerby, Business Manager Andreau DeGraw and      Board Recording Secretary Janelle Craft.  Riverside Middle/High School Principal Tony Anson and Laura Irwin Elementary Principal Tracy Pare were also present.


2.0       Recognition of Guests: 

            2.1       Laura Godfrey thank the board for their tough decisions they have had to make in             the last year and thanked Superintendent Kerby and Principal Tony Anson for the       extra duties they took on last year with the Elementary School.


3.0       Patron Audience: 

            3.1       Tom Farrens talked about new building project and updated the board.


4.0       Staff/Student Presentation

            4.1       Business Manager’s Report:  Andreau DeGraw

            4.2       Superintendent’s Report:  Superintendent Dave Kerby

            4.3       Committee Reports:

                        4.3.1    BOCES-Greg Gloy

                        4.3.2    Recreation Board-Brenton Paxton


5.0       Modification and Adoption of Agenda:  Vice Chairman Greg Gloy asked that 7.6 Executive Session be moved to 7.2.1 and add 8.4 Riverside Middle/High School eligibility code, 8.5 Coaches Code of Conduct and 8.6 School Funding letter.  Heath Hopkin made a motion to accept the agenda as modified.  Chris Kampbell seconded, motion passed.


6.0       Consent Agenda:  Brenton Paxton moved to accept the minutes of July 11, 2017, executive session minutes of July 11, 2017, the minutes of special meeting August 1, 2017, the August 8, 2017 expenditures and the Financial Officers report of August 8, 2017.


7.0       Items for Action and Consideration:

            7.1       5th Grade Participation:  Superintendent Kerby recommends that the district                                  includes 5th graders in middle school sports.  5th graders cannot expect to play in                           game unless the numbers are low and they are needed to fill positions, but will                               practice every day with the team.  Deb Craft moved to allow 5th graders to                                    participate in middle school sports.  Kristen Schlattmann seconded, Brenton                                  Paxton asked if a 3rd coach would be hired if the numbers?  Motion carries 5 to 1                          with Chris Kampbell voting no because the majority of the other school districts                                     who allow their 5th graders to participate in middle school sports           are a K-12                               school.


            7.2       Amend Board Policy 4.19 Rental of Teacherages:  Brenton Paxton moved to                                accept the policy as presented with the amendment of the teacherage at 109                                South 8th to be changed from a 3 bedroom to a 2 bedroom.  Rent will stay the                              same because appliances are included.  Deb Craft seconded, motion passed.


            7.2.1    Executive Session:  Brenton Paxton moved to go into executive session at 8:26                            p.m. Kristen Schlattmann seconded, motion passed.


                        Brenton Paxton moved to come out of executive session at 9:29 p.m.  Kristen                               Schlattmann seconded, motion passed.


            7.3       Renewal:  Ashley Chenoweth/LIE Special Education Teacher:  Deb Craft moved                          to renew Ashley Chenoweth as an LIE Special Education Teacher.  Heath                                     Hopkin seconded, motion passed.


            7.4       Renewal:  Annie Crouse:  Chris Kampbell moved to renew Annie Crouse as a                               Custodian.  Heath Hopkin seconded, motion passed with Greg Gloy abstaining                              from the vote.


            7.5       Resignation:  Virgie Mattis:  Chris Kampbell moved to accept the resignation of                             Virgie   Mattis.  Brenton Paxton seconded, motion passed.


            7.6       New Hires:  Ashley Chenoweth/RHS Assistant Volleyball Coach and CJ                                        Duncan/RHS Assistant Boys Basketball Coach.  Deb Craft moved to hire Ashley                         Chenoweth as the RHS Assistant Volleyball Coach.  Kristen Schlattmann                                      seconded, motion passed 4 to 2, with Chris Kampbell and Brenton Paxton voting                           no.

                        Kristen Schlattmann moved to hire CJ Duncan as the RHS Assistant Boys                                    Basketball Coach.  Brenton Paxton seconded, motion passed.


8.0       Discussion Items: 

            8.1       2017 WSBA Fall Regional Meeting (Worland MS) 8-24, 6:00-8:00 pm

            8.2       Staff Barbecue 8-17, 6:00 pm Fairgrounds

            8.3       Sick Leave Incentive and Amended Board Policy 5.14 Professional Staff Leave                            and Absences.

            8.4       Riverside Middle/High School eligibility code:  Combined handbooks to get one                             set of rules for both middle/high school.

            8.5       Coaches Code of Conduct

            8.6       School Funding Letter


9.0       Adjournment @ 10:17 pm





                                                                                    Board Chairman




                                                                                    Board Clerk