Big Horn County School District #4

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
Life-long learning through attitude, academics, and accountability

February 12, 2019



Riverside High School

Basin, WY

February 12, 2019




1.0        Opening of Meeting @ 6:00 p.m.

1.1        Pledge of Allegiance:  The meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m. by Chairman Heath Hopkin.  Mr. Hopkin then led all assembled in the pledge of allegiance.

1.2        Roll Call:  Board members present were:  Heath Hopkin, Audra Crouse, Greg Gloy, Brenton Paxton, Chris Kampbell and Linda Osmond.  Trustee Kristen Schlattmann arrived at 6:34 p.m.  Superintendent Dave Kerby, Board Recording Secretary Janelle Craft; Business Manager Trevor Whitaker, Tony Anson, Riverside High School Principal, and Tracy Pare, Laura Irwin Elementary Principal.


2.0        Recognition of Guests: 

            2.1        James Whipps – Corner Stones for new schools


3.0        Patron Audience: 

3.1        Public comment on Laura Irwin property (proposal to re-purpose as an Assisted Living Facility):  Deb Craft and Linda Harp both there to show their support for the assisted living facility.


4.0        Staff/Student Presentation

4.1        RHS Student Council Report

4.2        Safety Report – Greg Noel

4.3        Tom Farren – Building Update

4.4        Principal’s Report

            4.4.1     Tony Anson – RHS Principal

            4.4.2     Tracy Pare – LIE Principal

4.5        Business Manager Report


Trustee Chris Kampbell moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:45 p.m. to attend the Parade of Academic Champions in the gymnasium.  Audra Crouse seconded, motion passed.


Trustee Audra Crouse moved to go back into the regular board meeting at 7:36 p.m.  Brenton Paxton seconded, motion passed.


4.6        Superintendent’s Report – Dave Kerby

4.7        Special Education Director’s Report – Lee Clucas

4.8        Committee Reports

            4.8.1     BOCES

            4.8.2     Save the Gym

            4.8.3     Strategic Plan


5.0        Modification and Adoption of Agenda – Chairman Heath Hopkin asked that 7.4 Resignations be added to the agenda.  Brenton Paxton moved to accept the agenda as modified.  Audra Crouse seconded, motion passed.


6.0        Consent Agenda:  Audra Crouse moved the Board approve the minutes of January 8, 2019, Executive Session minutes from January 8, 2019, Minutes from Special Board meeting January 22, 2019 and and Executive Session minutes from January 22, 2019; the expenditures of February 12, 2019; the payroll expenditures of January 20, 2019; and the Financial Officer report as submitted with these minutes.  Brenton Paxton seconded, motion passed.


7.0        Items for Consideration and Action:

7.1        Executive Session:  Brenton Paxton moved to go into Executive Session at 8:14 p.m.  Chris Kampbell seconded, motion passed.


            Audra Crouse moved to come out of Executive Session at 8:35 p.m.  Kristen Schlattmann seconded, motion passed.

7.2        Administrator and Business Manager Contract Renewal:  Brenton Paxton moved to renew Lee Clucas, Special Education Director and Trevor Whitaker, Business Manager for the 2019-2020 school year.  Greg Gloy seconded, motion passed.

7.3        Gym floor at the new LIE School (wood or rubber):  Chris Kampbell moved to pay for the enhancement of having hard wood flooring installed in the new LIE gym.  Audra Crouse seconded, motion passed 5 to 1, with Brenton Paxton voting no because of our Special Education situation.

7.4        Resignation:  Greg Gloy moved to accept the resignation of Tracy Pare, LIE Principal and the retirement of Tony Anson, RMHS Principal.


8.0        Items for Report and Discussion: 

8.1        Proposal to re-purpose LIE as an Assisted Living Facility

8.2        Old Bus Barn Property – 4th Street, south of Town of Basin office.


            9.0        Adjournment:  There being no further business Greg Gloy moved to adjourn the meeting at 9:12 p.m.              Brenton Paxton seconded, motion passed.




                                                                        Kristen Schlattman, Board Clerk



                                                                        Heath Hopkin, Board Chairman