Big Horn County School District #4

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
Life-long learning through attitude, academics, and accountability

January 8, 2019



Riverside High School

Basin, WY

January 8, 2019



1.0        Opening of Meeting @ 7:00 p.m.

1.1        Pledge of Allegiance:  The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Chairman Heath Hopkin.  Mr. Hopkin then led all assembled in the pledge of allegiance.

1.2        Roll Call:  Board members present were:  Heath Hopkin, Audra Crouse, Greg Gloy, Kristen Schlattmann, Brenton Paxton, Chris Kampbell and Linda Osmond.  Superintendent Dave Kerby, Board Recording Secretary Janelle Craft; Business Manager Trevor Whitaker, Tony Anson, Riverside High School Principal, and Tracy Pare, Laura Irwin Elementary Principal


2.0        Recognition of Guests:  There were no guests to recognize at this meeting.


3.0        Patron Audience: 

            3.1        Caroline Schlattmann – Recycling idea


4.0        Staff/Student Presentation

4.1        RHS Student Council Report

4.2        Safety Report – Greg Noel

4.3        Tom Farrens – Building Update

4.4        Business Manager Report – Trevor Whitaker

4.5        Superintendent Report – Dave Kerby

4.6        Special Education Director – Lee Clucas

4.7        Principal’s Report

            4.7.1     Tony Anson – RMHS Principal

            4.7.2     Tracy Pare – LIE Principal

4.8        Committee Reports

            4.8.1     BOCES

            4.8.2     Basin Recreation

            4.8.3     Strategic Planning


5.0        Modification and Adoption of Agenda – Chairman Heath Hopkin asked that the following be added to the agenda, 7.6 Approve reducing the construction retainage from 10% to 5%, 7.7 Approve Superintendent Evaluation Form.  Audra Crouse moved to approve the agenda as modified.  Brenton Paxton seconded, motion passed.


6.0        Consent Agenda:  Audra Crouse moved the Board approve the minutes of December 12, 2018 and minutes of Executive Session December 12, 2018; the expenditures of January 8, 2019, except for check 64599 is to be voided and reissued in the amount of $23,282.00; the payroll expenditures of December 20, 2018; and the Financial Officer report as submitted with these minutes.  Brenton Paxton seconded, motion passed.


7.0        Items for Consideration and Action:

7.1        Approve non-resident student application:  Audra Crouse moved to approve the non-resident student application as presented.  Greg Gloy seconded, motion passed.

7.2        Executive Session – Personnel and legal concern

            Greg Gloy moved to go into Executive Session at 8:05 p.m.  Chris Kampbell seconded, motion passed.

            Personnel and Legal Concern

            Brenton Paxton moved to come out of Executive Session at 9:37 p.m.  Audra Crouse seconded, motion passed.

7.3        Superintendent Contract:  this item is to be tabled, to allow for the board to complete a current evaluation.  A special meeting will be held on January 22, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. at the Superintendent’s Office.

7.4        Resignation of John Tate, Middle School Girls Basketball Coach:  Brenton Paxton moved to accept the resignation of John Tate.  Greg Gloy seconded, motion passed.

7.5        Resignation of Tara Owen, LIE Paraprofessional:  Chris Kampbell moved to approve the resignation of Tara Owen.  Brenton Paxton seconded, motion passed.

7.6        Approve reducing the construction retainage from 10% to 5%:  Brenton Paxton moved to approve reducing the construction retainage from 10% to 5%.  Audra Crouse seconded, motion passed.

7.7        Superintendent Evaluation Form:  Audra Crouse moved to approve the WSBA standard Superintendent Evaluation form for future evaluations.  Kristen Schlattmann seconded, motion passed.



8.0        Items for Report and Discussion: 

8.1        Save the Gym

8.2        Board Training January 12, 2019

8.3        Paver for fundraiser to enhance school entry


9.0        Adjournment:  There being no further business Brenton Paxton moved to adjourn the meeting at 9:53 p.m.  Audra Crouse seconded, motion passed.




                                                                        Kristen Schlattman, Board Clerk



                                                                        Heath Hopkin, Board Chairman